We invite you to join us for a live virtual tour of Ecofiltro and meet the social entrepreneur on a mission to bring purified water to Guatemalans.

Webinar | Tuesday 22nd September

09.00-09.30 PDT | 12.00-12.30 EDT | 17.00-17.30 BST | 18.00-18.30 CET​

Click here to register.

In rural Guatemala, 55% of families do not have access to safe drinking water. The alternatives, boiling water or buying it bottled, are time consuming, expensive, and take a toll on the planet. Demand for fuelwood, which is used to boil and purify water, has contributed to the rampant loss of more than half of the country’s forests in the last 50 years.

Ecofiltro, a certified B Corp, developed a new approach to solving this public health and environmental challenge. The company produces and distributes affordable water filters to ensure rural families and schoolchildren have access to drinkable water.

Climate finance provides a boost to this social enterprise through the revenue from the sale of carbon credits. As Ecofiltro alleviates pressure for harvesting fuelwood, it protects trees and avoids carbon emissions. This adds up to 200,000 tonnes of CO2 emissions reductions per year.

Ecofiltro has sold more than 585,000 water filters since 2010 and is on track to sustainably bring clean water to one million rural households in Guatemala by 2025.

Join Eddy Meléndez Mendizabal from Natural Capital Partners for a live broadcast from Ecofiltro’s factory in San Lorenzo El Cubo, Guatemala with founder and CEO Philip Wilson, named Social Entrepreneur of the Year in 2012 by the Schwab Foundation of Switzerland.